With a Heart of Thanksgiving

How am I thankful? Let me count the ways…

For a husband who loves me and loves to cook – and is very good at it.

For my talented, beautiful, witty and brilliant sons who bring so much joy and laughter into our lives.

For my grandparents who raised me and my mother who entrusted me into their care before she died.

For my Godmother who has been there forever and who has been the mother that I’ve needed and wanted all my life.

For my school friends from Cuffee, Cook and Whitney Young.

For Trinity Christian College and my lifelong friends, especially my roomies and suities: Mia, Patti, Wendy, Sheryn, Sherry, Heather and Kimberly.

My bffs: Michelle, Sharee, Karen, Shirley, Daphine & Cherlisa.

For authors ReShonda Tate Billingsley, Victoria Christopher Murray, Neta Jackson, John Grisham, Mary Higgins Clark and so many others who have inspired me personally and professionally.

For Mondella Jones, who believed in me.

For my church families: Providence, which gave me my foundation, and Salem, which helps me to grow.

From my cradle to grave friend, Gina.

For my meddlesome and loving brothers and their incredibly beautiful and long-suffering wives.

For my nieces and nephews who make me appreciate youth.

For my cousins who make me laugh.

For my aunts and uncles who taught me what love and commitment are all about.

For Lillie St. Clair, Helen Van Wyck and Walter Owens who gave me an appreciation of music at its best.

For my health and strength. For my mind. For the gift of words.

For being able to see God move in so many ways. For being allowed to serve Him in unexpected and rewarding ways.

For my salvation.

I could go on and on, but I still have to go cook for dinner.

I hope you take the time today and make a list of all the things you are thankful for. Hopefully, you won’t be able to stop unless someone makes you do so.

One thought on “With a Heart of Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

